Wish Family Wedding Cake

Here it is…my first wedding cake. Well…let’s be careful with semantics here. Not “my first” wedding cake, but rather the first cake I made for a wedding. A Wish Child’s parents got married at the Village last week and I was glad to provide a cake for their special day. After the wedding (and eating the cake), Dad told my boss, “After the last 3 years [speaking of his daughter’s illness], it was hard to even think about the light at the end of the tunnel. Today, we not only saw that light, but it was decorated with a cake.” Good grief…thought I was going to cry! How nice. 🙂

Details on the cake: 3 layers, yellow cake, vanilla buttercream, ruffles. All from scratch. Loved making it! Wish they would have saved us some leftovers. 😉

It

It definitely wasn’t perfect, but I’m glad to have had the practice. Soon enough I’ll have the technique down pat. 🙂

2 Responses to “Wish Family Wedding Cake”

  1. sunshinekmp Says:

    Looks great and I’m sure they loved it! Love his quote to your boss. 🙂 Just another way of going the extra step to make things amazing for the visitors of the Village. 🙂

  2. Cheryl Says:

    It is simply lovely, Amy! The picture of the couple cutting into it gives me chills… I could definitely see this being the first of many wedding pictures that feature your cakes!

Leave a Reply

