Nutella Banana Bread

I have far too many ripe bananas in my freezer, so I decided it was time to put them to good use. Rather than making typical banana bread, I wanted to try something different. Somehow Nutella came to mind, so I set out to find a recipe that incorporated it.

This bread is good…not to banana-y or Nutella-y. I’m not sure that I’d make it with any frequency though. I’m not convinced that I want to use 3/4 of a cup of a precious jar of Nutella for it. But, if you’re looking for something different, give it a try!

Nutella Banana Bread
(from Baking Junkie)

1/2 cup salted butter
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 cups flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
Dash of salt
3 over-ripe bananas, mashed
¾ cup Nutella

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In medium sized mixing bowl cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and sour cream, then cinnamon, flour, baking powder, soda, and salt. Save bananas for last.

Place nutella in a small bowl and microwave for 20 seconds. Stir until smooth. Add one cup of the banana bread batter into the nutella and mix well.

Place large spoonfuls of batter into a greased 8 x 4 inch loaf pan, alternating between the banana and nutella batters. Swirl the two batters together with a knife.

Bake 60-65 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool in pan for at least 15 minutes and then flip out to cool on wire rack.

*I shared this recipe over at Thirty Handmade Days’ Pity Party and Something Swanky’s Sweet Treats Thursday. 🙂

One Response to “Nutella Banana Bread”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    I love any thing bananas! My human does too, so I’ll get him to try the recipe.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

