Lemon Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Anyone that knows me well knows that “I don’t do fruit in my baked goods.” It’s not so much the flavor I can’t handle as it is the texture (for example: apple pie with the squishy apples).

A couple of weeks ago, my friend Josh sent me this recipe to try…with the main ingredient being lemons. Hmmm…it sounded harmless enough, and in an effort to expand my baking repertoire, I decided to try it. I even went so far as to make homemade lemon curd for the icing. I would definitely make these again, but I’ll need to acquire a zester for the lemon. A peeler didn’t work so hot, but I made it work as best as I could. I think I’d also make them as mini cupcakes. The lemon flavor is certainly not overwhelming in the larger size cupcake. I just think they’d be good as little one or two bite minis. πŸ™‚

Lemon Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Lemon Curd

1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons white sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 lemon, zested
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

In a microwave-safe bowl, whisk together the sugar and eggs until smooth. Stir in lemon juice, lemon zest and butter. Cook in the microwave for one minute intervals, stirring after each minute until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. (The microwave process will take a total of approximately 5 minutes.) Remove from the microwave. Store in refrigerator until chilled and ready for use. Can be refrigerated for up to three weeks in the refrigerator.

Cupcakes

1 stick butter, softened
3/4 cups sugar
1 TBSP grated lemon zest
2 eggs
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
5 ounces cream cheese, softened & cut into small cubes
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Beat butter, sugar and lemon zest until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Add flour and baking powder into butter mixture. Fold in cream cheese and lemon juice. Mix just to combine. Spoon into cupcake liners. Bake 12 to 15 minutes. Cool completely.

Icing

1/4 cup lemon curd (using recipe above or can be purchased by the jar)
1 TBSP lemon juice
1 1/4 cups confectioner’s sugar

Mix together icing ingredients and spread over cooled cupcakes.

Makes about 10 cupcakes.

*I posted this recipe on 30 Handmade Days Pity Party Link Up. πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Lemon Cream Cheese Cupcakes”

  1. Julia Says:

    Got to your blog from sew mama sew, saw the first picture in this post, and thought you were giving away cupcakes – yum!

    Though the cozy and bracelet are adorable as well πŸ™‚

  2. Mom Says:

    I have a zester…you can have it.

  3. Bird and Bicycle Says:

    Those cupcakes look delicious! (I foudn you as you commented on my giveaway via sew mama sew, nice to meet you!)

Leave a Reply

