Sloppy Joe Crescents and Baked French Fries

Yesterday I decided I wanted sloppy joes for dinner. But, I didn’t want to make them from a can…I wanted them from scratch. I did some Googling and found this recipe. In the midst of my recipe search, I remembered I had two cans of crescent rolls in the fridge that needed to be used. I decided I’d use those instead of hamburger buns and I set out to find a recipe for guidance. That’s when I came across this.

THEN, I decided I needed fries to go with my new sloppy joe creation. I had two potatoes in the fridge that needed to be cooked up, so I set out on a quest to find a baked french fry recipe. Here’s what I found: Baked French Fries.

So…I did a little modifying to all the recipes, based on the spices I had in the house. Cooked everything up and tried it out. YUM! I hope to NEVER make sloppy joes using a can mix again and the fries were perfect. I think this would be a great family meal or perfect for something to throw together quick one night.

Here’s what ended up with…

Sloppy Joe Crescents
(adapted from AllRecipes.com and Pillsbury.com)

1 pound lean ground beef
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1 teaspoon yellow mustard
3/4 cup ketchup
3 teaspoons brown sugar
ground black pepper to taste
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used a mexican blend because it’s what I had)
1 can refrigerated crescent rolls

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line cookie sheet with aluminum foil.

In a medium skillet over medium heat, brown the ground beef and onion. Drain off liquids. Stir in the garlic powder, mustard, ketchup, brown sugar and pepper. Mix thoroughly. Reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes.

While the meat is simmering, unroll dough and separate into 4 rectangles. Press each into 8×4-inch rectangle, firmly pressing perforations to seal. Cut each in half crosswise, making 8 squares.

Stir cheese into meat mixture. Place about 2 rounded tablespoons beef mixture on center of each square. Fold dough over filling, forming triangles; press edges with fork to seal. With knife, cut small slits in tops for steam to escape. Place on cookie sheet.

Bake 11 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheet. Serve warm.

Baked French Fries
(adapted from AllRecipes.com)

1 large baking potato
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line cookie sheet with aluminum foil.

Rinse potato. Cut into wedges. Throw wedges into a ziploc bag. Add in olive oil, paprika, garlic salt, and pepper. Seal bag and coat potatoes with oil/spice mixture. Pour out on a baking sheet. Bake for 25-28 minutes, flipping potatoes with spatula about half way through. Serve warm with ketchup.

*I put the crescents and fries in the oven at the same time. When I took the crescents out, I flipped the potatoes with a spatula and then moved them to the higher rack.*

2 Responses to “Sloppy Joe Crescents and Baked French Fries”

  1. holandoates Says:

    making this for dinner Thursday night! can’t wait!

  2. Cheryl Says:

    I need to go back to the grocery store and get crescent rolls now. I make my own “fake” sloppy joes since I don’t eat meat, but I never thought of turning them into crescents – that’s genius!

Leave a Reply

