Chocolate Cake Mix Whoopie Pies

Yum yum yum!

For some reason, I’ve really wanted to make whoopie pies lately. I decided to find a recipe using boxed cake mix just to keep it simple. Once I found a cake mix recipe for whoopie pies, I had to find a filling. I wanted a cream cheese filling, and everything I was finding involved shortening and marshmallow fluff. So…I ended up combining two recipes to make these. While they didn’t turn out like I envisioned, they still taste great. I was disappointed that they ended up looking more like cookies than the fluffy whoopie pies you normally see. In a pinch, this recipe is perfectly suitable. I still want to try to make whoopie pies that look more like this or this. I’d also like to try the marshmallow fluff filling recipes.

Chocolate Cake Mix Whoopie Pies
From Cooks.com and Annie’s Eats

1 lg. box chocolate cake mix
1/3 c. water
3 tbsp. oil
2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together and drop by teaspoon (spread out) onto greased cookie sheets. Bake about 8 to 10 minutes. Cool on rack.

Filling

8 oz. cream cheese
5 TBSP unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese and butter on medium-high speed until well combined and smooth, about 2-3 minutes. Mix in the vanilla extract. Gradually beat in the confectioners’ sugar until totally incorporated, increase the speed and then beat until smooth.
Leave a Reply

