52 New Recipes for 2011

https://i1.wp.com/www.heals.co.uk/content/ebiz/heals/invt/313089/313089_m.jpg

art by Patrick Edgeley

Let me be real with you (all one of you reading this): I don’t do new year’s resolutions. Don’t get me wrong…I’m not against resolutions. I just don’t find the need to resolve anything for myself simply because the calendar prompts the majority of humankind to do so. I can’t tell you exactly when I stopped making new year’s resolutions, but I think it had something to do with the fact that I never followed through on them. And without that, what’s the point?

Well, with all that said, I do sometimes set goals and/or challenges for myself. (Maybe this is really just a futile exercise in semantics. Sigh.) I’m a pretty competitive person, even with myself. So if I challenge myself to something I’m more likely to follow through. I decided sometime around the turn of this new year, that I wanted to try the equivalent of one new recipe per week. Knowing that I have 274 “starred posts” in my Google Reader, and guessing that easily 80% of those are recipes I want to try, I’m thinking 52 new recipes in 2011 is an attainable challenge. (Go ahead…call it a resolution if you want.)

In order to keep up with my progress, I’m going to try and at least post links to the recipes I try on my blog. If I don’t make an entire post about a recipe, I’ll try to at least provide some brief commentary so you’ll know if trying the recipe is worth your time. (If you care.) Might as well get to it…

Weeks into 2011: 1 week, 2 days
New Recipes Tried: 5

  1. Peanut Butter Pretzel Bites: YUM! Worth it.
  2. Panko-Crusted Chicken Tenders: Skip it.
  3. Garlic Green Beans: Mediocre. Certainly better than beans from a can.
  4. Garlic Potatoes: Not the worst thing ever, but I’d rather have mashed potatoes.
  5. Chocolate Fudge Butterfinger Cookies: GOOD!

10 days into the new year and I’ve already tried five new recipes. Maybe I didn’t set a high enough goal. Hmm…I think I’ll stick with the 52 new recipes for now. We’ll see where this takes me.

5 Responses to “52 New Recipes for 2011”

  1. Ashley Lojko Says:

    Well thanks for at least trying my recipes! Sorry they weren’t your fave.

    -Ashley

  2. sunshinekmp Says:

    I find it somewhat funny that the recipes you suggest are desserts. šŸ™‚ I would expect nothing less!

  3. Dawn Says:

    I was just going to post what Kati said…so funny. I think you should rename your bog, I would rather have dessert!

  4. Bob Says:

    Didn’t I just watch a movie like this? Julie and Julia or something? šŸ™‚

  5. katiehobbie Says:

    of course the two you liked were desserts. šŸ™‚ love you for that!

Leave a Reply

