Compelled by Love

There are certain times in life when your heart is captured so much that you know a response is necessary.

Times when you’re captured by…
…a smile,
…a story,
…a friend or family member,
…a glimpse at creation,
…the discovery of a common journey,
…an unwavering faith in the God of the Universe, or
someone you’ve never met.

That last one? Someone you’ve never met? It’s kind of mind boggling. It’s kind of crazy how God can put something or someone on your heart whom you’ve never met. It happens in a way that you can’t really explain or describe. But once your heart’s been captured, you know it. You can’t ignore it. A response is required.

This is our response to the story of a little girl named Ava, someone I’ve never met. She’s a sweet little five-year-old girl here in Central Florida and she’s in the fight for her life. While I’ve never met her, my sister Kati has. Kati’s brother-in-law and sister-in-law are neighbors and good friends with Ava’s family. As soon as we heard about Ava’s fight, we had a simultaneous mutual desire to use our gifts and abilities to help, and God even gave us the same idea! If you aren’t familiar with Ava’s story, check out her Dad’s blog.

It may be small, the efforts may be humble, but here’s what we’ve decided to do…we’d like to organize a group of Etsyians in listing items to benefit sweet Ava. There’s already a fund established that we can donate money directly to, allowing her family to use it for whatever is needed. So, here’s where you come in…
Do you own an Etsy shop?
Know someone who owns an Etsy shop?
Want to open an Etsy shop?
Like to shop on Etsy?
Have a blog that you can use to help spread the word?

Pray about how God might use you to be a blessing to Ava and her family, whether you know them or not. Everything helps. No matter how big or small. Just leave a comment on this post and Kati or I will get back to you with details on how to get the fundraiser going.

Ava’s parents, family and friends are placing their complete faith in God to heal her. He is the only one that can. Even those of us that don’t know Ava are praying for a miracle.

This is a small way that we can show our support for a little girl who’s captured our hearts. A response is required, and it’s one that’s compelled by love. How might you respond?

“For Christ’s love compels us…” 2 Corinthians 5:14

8 Responses to “Compelled by Love”

  1. kelley Says:

    I would love to participate. Just give me the details and I am on it! I have a set of Fairy Princess blocks that I think would be perfect. Thanks for doing this!

  2. Lory Says:

    I’m not sure of all the circumstances, but my heart just breaks for this family. I would be happy to donate one of my Tutu’s. Please let me know if I can help. Thank you!

  3. Sarah P Says:

    Love this so much, Amy. I have been following their story because of you and praying for them so much. They are courageous and their faith is inspiring.
    Sari

  4. Kim Says:

    I am happy to donate some of my tags to help raise money for Ava! This is a wonderful thing you are doing Amy, your amazing!!! 🙂

    Kim

  5. Kyle Says:

    I’m not really the Etsy type but I obviously love the cause. Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.

  6. Sneha Says:

    Thank you for organizing this. When I read Ava’s father’s blog I truly had tears in my eyes.

    I’d like to donate some of the jewelry I make – and all my prayers. It broke my heart that “medically there’s nothing they can do for her”. No child should have to go through that.

    Sneha

  7. Sneha Says:

    Forgot to leave a link to my website.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/snowjeweler

    Sneha

  8. Etsy for Ava…start shopping TODAY! « Says:

    […] for Ava…start shopping TODAY! By amypaul So, as you probably recall, in a post I wrote last week Kati and I suggested our idea to bless the family of a little girl in our area. Sweet little Ava […]

Leave a Reply

