PW’s Chicken Spaghetti

This is only half!

I’d heard about this Pioneer Woman recipe from some friends who’d tried it and given it rave reviews. Last week, I decided to give it a shot. This particular recipe can be found on Pioneer Woman’s blog or in her cookbook.

It was DEFINITELY a crowd pleaser and something I’ll be making more often.

Depending on how many people you are feeding, this recipe certainly has the potential for lots of leftovers.

Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Spaghetti

2 cups cooked chicken
3 cups dry wheat spaghetti, broken into two-inch pieces
2 cans cream of mushroom soup
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
¼ cup diced green pepper
¼ cup diced onion
1 jar (4 ounces) diced pimientos, drained
2 cups reserved chicken broth from pot
1 teaspoon Lawry’s seasoned salt
⅛  to ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 cup additional shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Cook 1 cut up fryer chicken (I used 3 chicken breasts) and pick out the meat to make two cups. Cook spaghetti in same chicken broth until al dente. Do not overcook. When spaghetti is cooked, combine with remaining ingredients except additional 1 cup sharp cheddar.

Place mixture in casserole pan and top with remaining sharp cheddar. Cover and freeze up to six months, cover and refrigerate up to two days, or bake immediately: 350 degrees for 45 minutes until bubbly. (If the cheese on top starts to get too cooked, cover with foil).

Note: I split the recipe into two baking dishes so that one could be seasoned with the cayenne pepper. I left that ingredient out of the other half. This simplified recipe is taken straight from PW’s blog. If you go to her site, you’ll see step by step instructions. It’s so helpful! 🙂

Think they liked it?! All that was left after three guys got their fill.

3 Responses to “PW’s Chicken Spaghetti”

  1. Dawn Says:

    I am glad it turned out so good…When I made it I felt like it was too green peppery, but now looking at it I wonder if I added too many.

    • amypaul Says:

      Yeah…looking back at the recipe, her online version says 1/4 cup of green peppers, but the cookbook said 1/4 of a green pepper. For as much as the recipe made I thought 1/4 of the green pepper might not be enough, but I think it was actually perfect. 🙂

  2. emily Says:

    I think I’m going to make this next week. Now that I have Morgan down the street to cook for I’m all about new recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

