On Becoming a “Runner” :: part 5

Just Run!

Palm Beach 5K

And…this is where the rubber meets the road…literally. You’ve got a goal, a plan and hopefully a friend or two to encourage you along the way. Now…it’s time to get out and run! Sounds simple enough, but really that’s about all there is to it.

As you get going it’s important to remember to take things one day at a time. Each day is different. For example, this week my 3-mile run on Monday was great especially considering I hadn’t run in nine days because I’d been sick. But then my 2-mile run on Tuesday and my 3-mile run on Wednesday were almost like torture. I didn’t feel like myself and it was all I could do to finish those days. I took a rest day on Thursday and nervously went for my 4-mile run on Friday. That run was great! Best run I had all week (not by the numbers, but certainly by the way I felt). I had been so discouraged on Tuesday and Wednesday, but Friday made up for that. So…all that to say…some days will be harder than others. But you have to push through. (That’s where those encouraging friends and family members come in, too!)

As you start running you may want to consider a couple of  things. For example, your shoes may be great when you are conquering a 20-minute run, but as you continue to build the time and distance you may need to look into a new pair. I was very scared to buy running shoes because I didn’t want to make a purchase like that and then hate them after the first couple of runs. At the suggestion of my friend, Chris, I checked out Track Shack in Orlando. They have people trained to watch you walk/run and determine the best type of shoe. I ended up with a pair of Brooks running shoes and they’ve served me well. When it’s time for a new pair, I’ll probably visit Track Shack again. I believe they only have the Orlando location, but I think there are other stores you can find that will do the same thing for you.

RunKeeper iPhone App

Also, if you have an iPhone, you might want to consider some type of application to assist with your running. After much debate and looking around, I decided on the free version of RunKeeper. It’s great because it uses the phone’s GPS to map the run for me and then track my distance, time, pace and calories. After the run, I can log onto their website and see even more stats about each day’s run. It also allows your iPod to play in the background, so I start my playlist and then start the RunKeeper app and we’re good to go. They do have a version you can purchase through iTunes with many more features, and I am considering making that switch soon.

So…get out there, get going and just start running! I think you’ll be glad you did! 🙂

  • Next up: Meeting the Goal
3 Responses to “On Becoming a “Runner” :: part 5”

  1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot Says:

    You gotta love the iPhone so many great run apps, I log my run and trail guru. They work great.

  2. adurrua Says:

    I loved all your posts about running! Especially because I have been going through the same thing… I’m just a few months behind you. I’m running a 5k in May!

  3. On Becoming a “Runner” :: recap « Says:

    […] Just Run! […]

Leave a Reply

