On Becoming a “Runner” :: part 1

Tower of Terror 5K

If you know me well at all, you are probably familiar with my former unashamed declarations of my dislike for running. Up until about eight months ago, hearing the words “I HATE running” come from my mouth would not have been abnormal. And, while I haven’t reached the other extreme yet being able to say “I LOVE running” I have certainly come to dislike this form of exercise less and less.

Because I talk about my running adventures and conquests on Facebook a lot, I have had a couple of people ask me to share how I became a “runner.” This makes me laugh because I definitely don’t consider myself a “runner,” but I thought I could certainly embrace the challenge of sharing what’s worked for me. I don’t have a formula, but I think it’s safe to say I’ve found some things that have helped me along the way. So…I’ll do my best to share that here, in several posts.

I’m thinking you can expect the following posts as it relates to me becoming what some consider a “runner.”

  • Setting a Goal
  • Determining a Plan
  • Finding Friends
  • Just Run!
  • Meeting the Goal
  • Upping the Ante

So…that’s my plan. Six more blog posts about how I became a “runner” in hopes that it may help someone else. 🙂

3 Responses to “On Becoming a “Runner” :: part 1”

  1. Jama Says:

    you ARE a “runner”!!!! embrace it 🙂

  2. kelley Says:

    Looking forward to reading this series of blog entries as I am in the beginning stages of “becoming a runner” as well! 🙂

  3. On Becoming a “Runner” :: recap « Says:

    […] On Becoming a “Runner” […]

Leave a Reply

