Did I Do That?!

Before yesterday, the farthest I’d run was 3.5 miles. But after yesterday, I can add 6 miles to my list of achievements. You can’t believe it?! Yeah, me either. But, I did it…in 1:01:13. Seriously. It’s been almost twenty-four hours and if my body weren’t reminding me of this feat, I still wouldn’t believe it. But, here’s proof. Me…looking like a hot mess…after running 6 miles WITHOUT stopping. Seriously?!

March 29, 2010

I won’t lie. It wasn’t “easy,” but I did it. The last two miles were a killer because I was tired and the wind was working so hard against me. But, now that I’ve done it, I have confidence that I could train for a 10K. And, that will be my new goal. (Who am I?)

I downloaded some new music before yesterday’s run and created a play list in iTunes that would last much longer than the run. Then, I set it to shuffle and took off. Yesterday’s shuffled running playlist gave me:

  1. Bang Bang by K’naan (featuring Adam Levine)
  2. Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It) by Beyonce
  3. Fireflies by Owl City
  4. Nothin’ On You by B.o.B. (featuring Bruno Mars)
  5. Made to Love by tobyMac
  6. Waking Up in Vegas by Katy Perry
  7. Billionaire (clean version) by Travis McCoy (featuring Bruno Mars)
  8. Lovebug by Jonas Brothers
  9. Whatever You Like by T.I.
  10. Green Light by John Legend (featuring Andre 3000)
  11. Summertime by DJ Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince
  12. I Need a Girl by P. Diddy
  13. Accidentally in Love by Counting Crows
  14. Tik Tok by Ke$ha
  15. Hot N Cold by Katy Perry
  16. Bye Bye Bye by ‘N Sync
  17. Boyfriend by Ashley Simpson

I’m still looking for suggestions for my playlists. Anything to add?

9 Responses to “Did I Do That?!”

  1. Mom Says:

    Way to go, Mimi!! That is awesome! Love u!

  2. sunshinekmp Says:

    Good Job Amy!!! 🙂

  3. Megan (Best of Fates) Says:

    Wow, that’s quite an accomplishment!

  4. Rachel Says:

    oh my gosh- backstreet boys. killing me!

    you are a champ.

    new favorite- “you already know” by train. (same group that sings soul sister!)
    starts slow but picks up 🙂

    maybe if u lived in west palm i would run more…hmm….

    • amypaul Says:

      Backstreet Boys?? I’m confused…don’t insult NSync like that. 🙂

      I will look into that new song. I like the sound of that band but I’m getting tired of the one song they play over and over on the radio. Thanks for the recommendation.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. ally Says:

    Congratulations on 6 miles! That’s fantastic! I have to have good songs to run very far…there are a few songs by the Killers that are great for running.

  6. Cheryl Says:

    Way to go, Amy! So proud of you.

  7. On Becoming a “Runner” :: part 7 « Says:

    […] I planned to train for a 10K. However, one sunny day in March, I set out to run 6 miles with Matt even though I hadn’t worked up to that distance yet. While it wasn’t easy (or […]

  8. kelley Says:

    Congrats! I don’t even know if I’m a Mary J. Blige fan BUT I love running to her song “Just Fine”. Gets me fired up every time…and I find myself replaying it to get through my run!

Leave a Reply

