Until Four Years Ago

Four years ago today, God blessed our family with an incredible gift–my sweet nephew Paul. He’s such an amazing addition to our family and I can barely remember what life was like before him. Apparently, there was a lot I didn’t know before he came along. In four years, I’ve learned a thing or two.

I never knew…

…boys could be so fun!

…cute clothes existed for cute little boys.

…sitting around staring at a kid would be more entertaining than anything on TV.

…a three-year-old could beat an entire room of adults at Wii Bowling.

…I would be the crazy aunt saying, “I can’t believe you’re four! How did you get so old?! How did that happen??”

…being “Mimi” would become my favorite thing in the world.

…I would have the opportunity to live close enough to see my favorite guy on such a regular basis.

…hearing words like “yoyo” (Paul-speak for yellow) and “Meno” (Paul-speak for Nemo) pronounced correctly would make me sad.

…Buzz & Woody would make a comeback and be “cool” in the eyes of a little kid again.

…my almost-four-year-old nephew would start wiping away my kisses just for comedic effect.

…that a gram scale would be so handy and that PKU would alter the way we looked at food forever.

…that PKU would become less daunting and instead just become part of who we are.

…God would teach me lessons about myself through my nephew.

And…today, on Paul’s fourth birthday
(How did that happen??), I never knew…

…I could love him even more than I did on March 7, 2006.

Happy Birthday, Paulie!

I love you, buddy!

6 Responses to “Until Four Years Ago”

  1. sunshinekmp Says:

    🙂

  2. Mom Says:

    Paulie is lucky to have an Aunt who loves him so much. He, too, is blessed.

  3. Jenny Says:

    he is a cutie!

  4. Kyle Says:

    Like!

  5. Rachel K Says:

    i just got teary-eyed. paul will appreciate this so much when he’s older…never get rid of this blog 🙂

  6. kelley Says:

    You are an amazing Aunt!! Love hearing about your adventures with that sweet little guy!

Leave a Reply

