Life As I Know It: an update

Well…as some of you may know via Facebook, the biggest news for me right now is that I will soon be EMPLOYED! Praise the Lord! As you know this has been a long time coming. I am so exited to start working again that it’s not even funny.

I’ll be working in Guest Services at Give Kids The World Village, which is where I have been volunteering each week since June. It’s been cool to see how God has worked this out. The guy who’s position I’ll be filling was one of 2-3 staff who I worked with almost every Wednesday night. He had just finished law school when he started at GKTW and was looking for a job the whole time he was there. When he resigned he actually told the manager that I had been looking for a job and that if I was still looking they should hire me. I thought that was such a thoughtful thing to do. His last day was shortly after Thanksgiving and they weren’t even sure if they were going to be able to rehire the position.

Last Wednesday, I just “happened” to check GKTW’s website to see if they had posted any job openings and my job was there! I sent my application in right away and went to volunteer for my normal shift that night. I was hoping to mention it to a manager that night, but the girl working is relatively new herself, so I thought it wouldn’t really matter. That night when I went to leave, I stopped by to see Kasey and gave her a ride to Guest Services on my way out of the Village. She walked in (as God would time it) right when the head manager (who hadn’t been there earlier) and the new manager were discussing if the volunteer that just left (me) was Amy Paul. 🙂 Kasey was sure to inform them that it was me! Kasey called saying that the head manager was wanting to meet me, so since I wasn’t far, I turned around and went back to the Village.

I met Dee Dee that night and she told me how excited they were to have received my resume that day. She said that they had been waiting for it because Anthony had recommended me for the job before he left. She scheduled me to come in for an interview last Thursday. And…as you know I GOT THE JOB! She told me she “hoped to know by Monday,” but she called me on Friday to offer the job! I am so excited!

The question I keep getting is, “Is it full or part time?” And, you know…I don’t even know! And, I don’t even care. I am somewhat anticipating that it’ll just be part-time, but I am just excited to be working! The job is very entry level, but that’s ok too. I have been wanting a foot-in-the-door at the Village since Kasey started working there and this is it. Now that I am “in,” I should be able to move around and/or up in a matter of time. I should be starting work the week of Christmas…stay tuned. 🙂

5 Responses to “Life As I Know It: an update”

  1. Mom Says:

    God is good. And everything in his time.

  2. kathleen Says:

    Congratulations Amy, that is so GREAT!!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Amy that’s SOOO exciting!! I think we drove by a sign for that place when we were up in Orlando Thanksgiving weekend. I immediately thought about you because you always talk about it on FB. What kind of a place is it?? I’m SO happy for you! They have no idea what a gem they just got in hiring you!!!!

  4. Cheryl Says:

    Congratulations! I am so excited for you, Amy!!!

  5. Amanda Says:

    Soo fun! Somehow I missed the news on facebook – but lauren parker told me to check your blog for some great news. 🙂 I just know you’re gonna love it!

Leave a Reply

