My Year at Disney

Celebrating Kasey's Birthday at Magic Kingdom.

Go ahead…call me a dork. Call me crazy. Call me what you will, but I have been waiting a year to write this post.

As you may recall (from this post) or as you may have gathered from my many Disney-related Facebook statuses and blog posts, I purchased a Disney Annual Pass last November. Now…what you may not know about this pass is that I paid $330 of it using Disney Dollars from my Disney Rewards Visa, which means only $30-ish came out of my pocket for the pass. Isn’t that wonderful? Disney really IS the happiest place on earth.

But…that’s not what I’ve been waiting a year to write about. Oh no…that’s not what makes me dorky or crazy…but this is…

Nice to meet you, Buzz.

So…throughout my 365 days as an Annual Passholder, I kept track of all my Disney visits that required the use of my pass. Yep, that’s right. I kept track of all of them in my trusty iCal (thanks, MacBook). But here’s why…of course I knew it was more logical to buy a pass than a one-day ticket, but I just really wanted to see what I was getting for my money (or Visa’s…which was mine too).

And…here’s how it breaks out…

  • Trips to Magic Kingdom: 7 (Hours: 34)
  • Trips to EPCOT: 8 (Hours: 25)
  • Trips to MGM: 11 (Hours: 38)
  • Trips to Animal Kingdom: 1 (Hours: 4)

On the carousel with my favorite boy.

Looks like in one year, I visited some portion of Mickey’s house 27 times, totaling 101 hours. (And it’s now obvious to everyone else which park I’m not so much a fan of.) So, that means out of my pocket, I paid $1.11 for each visit. Or, I paid $0.30 per hour. (Even if I had paid full price, out of pocket for my pass that would have been $13.33 per visit, or $3.56 per hour.)

And, let’s not forget about the costs for parking. It’s $14 a day! Granted, I sometimes went to more than one park per day, that’s a “savings” of over more than $350!

So….yes…call me a dork. Call me crazy. Call me what you will, but I am thrilled to have had that Annual Pass this year. I got to take Paul more times than he can count (probably literally) and also got to spend time with friends from out of town. It was well worth it. So much so that I’ve renewed for another 15 months! Yay for Mickey! šŸ™‚

11 Responses to “My Year at Disney”

  1. kcd75 Says:

    It really looks like you had a blast! Thanks for the post.

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

  2. Kati Says:

    I must say I am surprised that it is not more than that! šŸ™‚

  3. robin Says:

    Love the disney pass – love your love of disney – I cant get enough – going there dec 17-19 – been going since the day it opened – literally I was there on the first day – it truly is the happiest place on earth and a place our family can alway reconnect and regroup – LOVE the post – love you! Robin

  4. sunshinekmp Says:

    You ARE your sisiter’s sister!!!!

  5. Amanda Says:

    so impressed, amy. šŸ™‚

  6. kathleen Says:

    That is ALOT of Disney hours!! Very impressive.

  7. kyle Says:

    All that time and Paul has still not seen Finding Nemo the musical. Finding Nemo is his favorite movie and probably would be his favorite show. Maybe in the next 15 months….

  8. sunshinekmp Says:

    (Mom wrote that comment that looks like I wrote it.) And Kyle….you work for Disney…you could take him! šŸ™‚

  9. Cat Says:

    Since you gave us permission I am going to call you a dork.

  10. Cheryl Says:

    You are so not crazy! It makes total sense, especially when you have an adorable nephew to take with you. Those memories are priceless.

  11. Joshua Kolkana Says:

    Amy – this post gives me an overwhelming sense of glee and satisfaction. Disney does not just ‘feel’ satisfying, it is actually mathematically, logically satisfying. Oh the joys of linear thinking and factual conclusions. BTW, I think you just got the edge on the next WDW ad campaign. Trademark your work now.

Leave a Reply

