Bummed…but Convinced

I’m bummed…

But I’m also convinced…

There’s a reason I’m not gearing up for Day One of Catalyst in Atlanta right now.

I don’t know what it is, but honestly I’m convinced God had a different plan.

If you don’t know, Catalyst is THE conference geared for young leaders–especially ministry and church leaders. I’ve wanted to attend for YEARS. And every year there’s been some reason that I could not go. This year, even though Cadence was due to arrive the day I’d need to leave for Catalyst, I decided to take the plunge and buy a ticket.

I was so excited. I was even looking forward to the solo road trip, thinking ahead to all the podcasts I’d be able to catch up on. I’d lined up a great place to stay, with a friend who recently moved to Atlanta and who I haven’t seen in quite some time. I’d also talked to several others who would be there, knowing that we would meet up to sit together, eat together and just enjoy the time together.

As it got closer, I was starting to become convinced that Cadence knew I was going to be out of town and she was planning her arrival accordingly. But as you know my sweet niece arrived Saturday morning, giving me the “a-ok” in my mind to travel to Atlanta. 🙂

Well…God had a different plan. Obviously. And I’m not saying that because it’s the “right thing to say.” I honestly believe it.

I have been fighting a cold since Monday night. When I was so sick Tuesday that I couldn’t go to BSF, I knew a trip to Atlanta was out of the question. Fortunately I had a friend who’d already made his way to Atlanta hoping to find a ticket (Catalyst sold out this year). I coordinated a ticket hand off with some other friends coming through Orlando on their way and now he is able to attend.

Anyway…so this was kind of a long story to say (again) that I am convinced there is a reason I was not supposed to make the trip to Atlanta this year. I don’t know what that reason is, and I may never know, but I trust that God has a reason.

And, now, I’m ready for this cold to go away so that I can go hang out with Paul and Cadence!

Here’s hoping for Catalyst 2010!

3 Responses to “Bummed…but Convinced”

  1. Kati Says:

    I hope you are well soon so that you can hang out with us!

  2. Dad Says:

    one day the reason will be clear. My cold keeps lingering too 😦

  3. katiehobbie Says:

    i hope the Lord does something amazing in the life of the friend who got to go BECAUSE of YOU!

Leave a Reply

