“Runner” in Training

A couple of weeks ago, Kasey, Matt and I got the crazy idea to run a 5K. Seriously, what came over us? What came over ME? If you know me, you know I am not ashamed to say that I am not a fan of running. Never really have been. But I decided that I wanted to prove to myself that I could do this.

This will be the first race for Kasey and me. We decided to do the first one up right, and registered for Disney’s Tower of Terror 5K in October. A 3.2 mile run through MGM (aka Hollywood Studios), at night, with an after party? Yes, please. We have also recruited a few other friends to join us, so we’re really looking forward to it.

Almost two weeks ago, I began training. To a seasoned runner, 3.2 miles is nothing, but for those of us who aren’t fans of running this task can’t be taken lightly. 🙂 Matt found a great plan for Kasey and me to follow. And, I’m happy to say, I completed week one on Saturday. Since this plan is only for 5 weeks, I am planning to do each week twice. If it gets too easy for me along the way, I’ll up the anty. Here’s the plan I’m using…kind of. I move Sunday’s assignment to Saturday, and even if it says to walk for 20 minutes I do a minimum of 30 minutes.

Click to Enlarge

So…we’ll see how this goes. If all goes well, I plan to run the Give Kids The World 5K with Bob and Dawn in November. If you want to run either of these with us, feel free to register and let me know. The more the merrier! 🙂

Links for Registration

4 Responses to ““Runner” in Training”

  1. katiehobbie Says:

    i read the first paragraph with an open mouth. i’ll believe it when i see it. 🙂 i love you, but i know that you do not love running. i guess it’s easier when you have partners. also, a 5K is usually 3.1 miles…

  2. Cheryl Says:

    I’m thoroughly impressed. Good luck!

  3. [Still A] “Runner” in Training « Says:

    […] I realized that we are officially one month away from the Tower of Terror 5K! Wow! If you missed this post, at the end of July I decided to train for a 5K…and here we are, one month […]

  4. Running a Mile (or 263) in My Shoes « Says:

    […] decided to prove to myself that I could complete a 5K race. I signed up, found a training plan and blogged about it. Along the way I’ve kept track of all my runs, so I thought it would be somewhat gratifying […]

Leave a Reply

