Something Redeeming on MTV

Sometime after college, I finally tore myself away from most of the useless programming on MTV. Occasionally something fun came about, like the Legally Blonde show, and I would set my DVR forgetting that MTV plays reruns 18 out of 24 hours a day.

Last week, my friends Josh and Kami were raving on their Facebook statuses about an episode of a new MTV show, 16 and Pregnant. The episode chronicles the story of a young couple who decide to give their baby girl for adoption. I had NEVER cried watching anything on MTV…until last week. The courage, strength, bravery and selflessness of these two teenagers should be an example to all of us.

So…since there’s nothing decent on summer TV anyway, take some time and watch this episode of 16 and Pregnant. It’s about an hour long, but I think it’s worth your time. And, as someone said to me, “I dare you not to cry.”

Here’s a link to the episode: http://www.mtv.com/videos/16-and-pregnant-ep6-catelynn/1615511/playlist.jhtml

3 Responses to “Something Redeeming on MTV”

  1. kathleen Says:

    I saw this the other day and honestly could not believe that I was crying like a baby over a show on MTV! But those kids had wisdom way beyond their years and it was so amazing to watch! I was also proud of MTV for actually airing something with integrity!

  2. chadvaughan Says:

    i would like to say that i was lying when i say that i sobbed at home when i watched it. i would also like to say i was lying when i say that i got very emotional when kelley and i watched it in the office. wish as i may, i cried both times.

  3. Sami Says:

    Russell asked me what was wrong when he walked in the door…i couldn’t even explain…he was definately weirded out… 😉 they are SO wise, besides the whole getting pregnant in the first thing part…

Leave a Reply

