Life as I Know It: an update

Well…here we are…almost six weeks away from the last update that I wrote (check out this post). And while I don’t really have anything much different going on, I find myself with a better attitude…today.

The keyword in that sentence? Today.

That’s what my life consists of these days…moving forward, taking the next right step, trying to have the right perspective–one day at a time. I mean, really, that’s probably the way we are SUPPOSED to/INTENDED to live.

Too bad it’s not easy and too bad I’d rather see the bigger picture, but right now that’s not an option. Right now, God says, “here’s what I need you to do TODAY.” And it’s my responsibility to listen and be obedient.

That’s it.

It’s a process–a daily process.

But God is walking me through it. By no means do I have it figured out, and by no means do I “love” it, but God continues to gently remind me that I have all that I need…at least for today. And, really that’s all that I can be concerned with for now.

2 Responses to “Life as I Know It: an update”

  1. Jen Says:

    Ok, you will laugh at me, but this is exactly why i like running. It has taught me much about life…I know there are few people out there who appreciate it like that.. 😉 but it’s such an important process.

    When I am running it’s about me, in that moment, putting one foot in front of the other. I can’t focus on mile 6 or 10 or whatever is coming up, but I have to focus on where I am at, in the moment. As long as my legs are still moving I will get there. One step at a time. Focusing on how much more I have to go overwhelmes me, and thinking about how many miles I’ve done does me no good…it’s all about where I am at that moment. If I skipped steps I would fall, so I have to concentrate in the moment. At the end of the first half-marathon I did I literally wasn’t thinking anything except with each step I kept saying to myself, ‘I can do it, I can do it’ and it got me to the end.

    So yeah…all this babbling to say, A) running benefits everyone in every way 🙂 and B) focus on the steps you’re taking now, where you are at now, because without them you would miss your final destination.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I think you’ll find a lot of people who feel the same way you do, no matter what stage of life they are in. 🙂

  2. The Obligatory New Year’s Post « Says:

    […] Life as I Know It: An Update […]

Leave a Reply

