Go Ahead…Call Me a Dork

In case you forgot (because I haven’t really mentioned it in sometime), I’m in the process of getting my Masters in Organizational Leadership from Palm Beach Atlantic. I realized the other night that I am three (and a half) courses from being FINISHED! That also translates into 28 nights of class. Woo hoo! I can’t believe it! I’ll be done by December, if not sooner. Crazy!

Anyway, back to the point of this post. My last class was Multicultural Leadership and it was the first class I took at PBA’s Orlando Campus (which is wonderful, by the way). My professor really liked giving us articles to read. Most of them were interesting, and one of them had an interesting story about creativity and innovation that I just loved. I thought I’d share it here.

Two people with different perspectives test different potential improvements and increase the probability of an innovation.

For example, attendees at the 1904 St. Louis World’s Fair could choose from a wide array of food choices: ice cream, cookies, cakes, waffles, and so on. One hot day during the fair, an ice cream vendor ran out of cups. A Syrian waffle vendor in the booth next door named Ernest Hami improvised by rolling up waffles to make cones. The rest, as they say, is history.The parts of the portfolio-the waffles and the ice cream- combined to create something new, and better: the ice cream cone. The key here is that the waffles and the ice cream interacted, and through that interaction produced a superadditive benefit. 

Diverse teams of people can produce similar gains, but they need to interact in order to do so.

From “Making the Difference: Applying a Logic of Diversity” by Scott E. Page

Alright…go ahead…at this point you are free to call me a dork. 🙂

2 Responses to “Go Ahead…Call Me a Dork”

  1. Bob Says:

    Wow, kind of makes you wonder how some other great combinations came to be. Like my wife’s favorite meal, macaroni & cheese with hot dogs… someone probably once dropped a chunk of hot dog on their plate of mac & cheese and just went for it!

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Thanks for sharing that great article. And congrats on the very bright light at the end of the tunnel!

Leave a Reply

