A Big Hot Mess

img_3682

To anyone but Kati and me, the above picture may look like a big hot mess. However, to us it’s a sign of major progress!

Somehow I convinced her (and me) that we should attempt to take Two Florida Girls to the craft show circuit. We are applying to do our first show in Ormond Beach during the first weekend of May.

On Monday, we came up with a game plan for completing 200 coffee cozies, 50 gadget cozies, 25 mini gadget cozies and 30 little guy ties in a little more than four weeks.

Tuesday night we started on our lofty goals. Kati cut the insides for all the gadget cozies and mini gadget cozies, along with a handful of fabric selections for the coffee cozies. I cut the insides for all the coffee cozies (thank goodness I realized I could cut two at once!).

Today we were blessed with some volunteer help from our good friend, Kasey. (I don’t think she really knew what she was getting herself into.) Kati did some pinning, sewing and ironing while Kasey and I cut fabric selections for the coffee cozies. We got fabric cut for 100 cozies! That’s half!!! Kati got 53 to about the halfway done mark (ironed, pinned, sewn, trimmed, turned inside out). What an accomplishment!

So…like I said…the above picture may look like a hot mess, but it’s the trimmings of 53 halfway sewn coffee cozies! I must say…I’m proud of us. And, THANK YOU, KASEY!

(And, as if I needed another shameless plug for the Etsy shop…but we added some more items this morning. Check it out: http://twofloridagirls.etsy.com. You’ll be glad you did!)

6 Responses to “A Big Hot Mess”

  1. katiehobbie Says:

    woo-hoo! great job girlies! i SO wish i could come and see the booth at your craft show debut…

  2. Cheryl Says:

    good luck with the craft show! can’t wait to hear all about it.

  3. Cat Says:

    there is nothing wrong with a shameless plug : )
    http://triplecdesigns.etsy.com

  4. kathleen Says:

    Sweet! You guys need to do one down here!!

  5. kathleen Says:

    Ok I just checked out the gadget cozy and I had to get one! My flip camera is in serious need of a cute cozy, that black ugly thing that it came with just wasn’t cuttin’ it 🙂

  6. carrie Says:

    How do you display you coffee cozies in the craft fairs. I live up in North Florida, and will be doing my first craft fair here. I don’t know what to do with the cozies. I have the bag display down ok, but the coffee sleeves still seem to be a problem.

Leave a Reply

