Buzz and Woowy

Ever since Paul first went on the Buzz Lightyear ride at the Magic Kingdom he’s taken a liking to the Space Ranger. No one’s really sure why because until last night he’d never even seen Toy Story. In fact, until last night he’d never watched a full length movie (aside from Veggie Tales or M-I-C-K-E-Y).

img_3213A couple of weeks ago he and I went on an adventure to MGM which included his first time meeting Buzz and “Woowy” (as he affectionately calls Woody). He was thrilled. On the way home from our visit, I thought maybe he’d like to watch the movie starring his new friends. Surprisingly, we did not own it on DVD. This weekend at the beach house, his Grammy went on a mission to purchase the movie for him and we couldn’t find it at Wal-Mart. Since when does Wal-Mart not carry Disney classics like Toy Story?! 

Last night on my way home, I stopped by Blockbuster to rent it. I came home and told Paul I had a surprise for him. He closed his eyes, and I put the Toy Story DVD box in his hands. When he opened his eyes, they got huge and he said, “Mommy! Buzz and Woowy movie! I so excited!” 

We explained to him that it was a long movie, so he needed to get ready for bed first. Kati and I were both skeptical if he’d sit through the entire 80 minute movie. But…he did! And, I think it’s safe to say he loved it! He laughed at Mr. Potato Head and was rather impressed that Buzz could fly. 🙂 I think he followed the story line as good as an almost-three-year-old can. When the movie was over he said, “I want to watch it again.” How cute is that?000624056393

This morning, when Paul woke up I asked him if he wanted to watch TV. Now, you must understand that most mornings he watches a few shows on Disney…namely Mr. Mouse. So, imagine my suprise/delight when he answered with, “Yes! I want to watch Buzz and Woowy movie. It’s a long movie!” 

Being an aunt is the best.

Update: Paul watched Toy Story three times in less than 24 hours. And, each ending of the movie brought the same question, “I watch it again?” He can now tell you what’s going to happen next in the movie before it actually happens. I think it’s time to get him Toy Story 2. 🙂

5 Responses to “Buzz and Woowy”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Being an aunt is one of the most exciting things!! I agree… I ADORE the stories of Paul… I think my favorite one (which I have repeated to a few people) is you spoiling him and how Kati set up the play date and he said he was going to Mickey’s House. SO cute!!

    Check out this site, hopefully it will make you smile…

    Kelly

    http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/

  2. Cheryl Says:

    This is such a sweet story. As a fellow aunt, I absolutely love it! 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

  3. katiehobbie Says:

    so cute. harper’s thing lately is Mary Poppins. she’s seen it 4 times in the past 2 weeks.

  4. Great Grampa Says:

    This is all so far over my feeble mind that I now realize I need to go back over my childhood and relearn so many things.

  5. Great Grampa Says:

    Did someone fail to remember to set their clocks ahead?

Leave a Reply

