The Fourteen Layer Cake

I saw pictures and a recipe for a fourteen layer cake on Bakerella earlier this week, and was rather intrigued. It looked simple enough and quite delicious. I have a 12ish page paper due on Monday, and friends coming in town for the weekend, so I decided once the paper was done I would celebrate by making the cake. Last night I doctored up the reference page of my paper and submitted it to my professor–four days early! Cake making time!

I didn’t take pictures of all the steps because Bakerella’s already done that, and who can do it better than her? So, if you want the play by play, check it out here. She also provides a few different recipes, and I ended up kind of combining bits and pieces of a few different recipes. Stick with me…here’s what I did.

The Fourteen Layer Cake Recipe

for the cake (from Group Recipes)

2 Duncan Hines yellow cake mixes
2 cups water
1 cup oil
8 eggs
2 instant vanilla pudding mixes (4 serving size)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 14 round cake pans (It’s easiest to use the 8.5″ size throw away aluminum pans).

Mix all above ingredients together as you normally would for a cake. Put 1/2 cup of batter in each pan and spread evenly over the bottom. Bake for 12-13 minutes. Watch closely. (I was able to bake three at a time.) Cool before icing.

The cakes ready for assembly.

The cakes ready for assembly.

 

for the first layer of icing (from Oprah.com)

3 cups sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, cut up
1 can (12 ounces) evaporated milk
1 TBS vanilla extract

When the last batch of cakes go in the oven it’s a good time to start making the icing. Bring the sugar, cocoa, butter and evaporated milk to a full boil in a large saucepan. Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until the icing has thickened slightly (it will resemble chocolate syrup but will thicken as it cools), about 3 minutes. Stir in the vanilla. Let the icing cool until thick enough to spread, but still pourable.

 

for assembling the cake (from Bakerella)

Bakerella recommends that you: place the cake on a cake board. Place the board on a wire rack. And place the wire rack over a jelly roll pan to catch any icing that drips. I improvised and made it work with a pizza stone and some trays to catch the mess.

Put the first layer down and cover with about 1/4 cup of icing. It will drip. Lots. Repeat until you have all fourteen layers assembled. With any leftover icing, cover the top and sides of the cake. Then, let the monster of a cake rest for a little bit while you make the amazing buttercream icing.

 

for the cream cheese buttercream icing (from Bakerella)

1/2 cup butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 pound confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla
Approx. 3 TBS milk

Cream the butter and cream cheese with a mixer. Add the cocoa and vanilla. Add the confectioner’s sugar in small batches and blend on low until combined. Scrape down the sides with each addition. Add 1 TBS of milk at a time until you get the consistency you desire. Ice the entire cake.

ENJOY!

The cake before the cutting.

The cake before the cutting.

Pretty impressive.

Pretty impressive.

10 Responses to “The Fourteen Layer Cake”

  1. We’ve Added To Our Shop « What a world… Says:

    […] Added To Our Shop Last night I spent a good portion of the night (when I was not eating fourteen layer cake) sewing coffee cozies for our shop. Since I had been sick for a couple of days, I had gotten behind […]

  2. masterfamily Says:

    Oh my gosh!!!! I don’t think I’d have the guts to make that one… Props to you for making it work! I’m sure it was delicious!

  3. dawnandbob Says:

    WOW. Please make sure Dawn waits to attempt this until we have a bigger kitchen! Our little house can’t handle that much baking at one time, but I can imagine you had fun!

  4. Kelly Says:

    Looks amazing!!! You did a fantastic job!!!!

  5. katiehobbie Says:

    oh.my.word. that thing is ridiculous. i hope it was as delicious as it looks.

  6. PreppyPrincess.com Says:

    Oh. My. Word. That is incredible, and it looks *so* good! Wow!
    tp

  7. Cheryl Says:

    Wow, Amy. Impressed doesn’t describe it. I saw this recipe on Bakerella (I am a loyal reader now, thanks to you) and immediately closed the post with sheer terror and intimidation.

  8. Audrey Says:

    Wow, that is quite a cake. I’m loving looking at your recipes. I sent my daughter the link for the cookie dough cupcakes. Those too looked wonderful.

  9. The Obligatory New Year’s Post « Says:

    […] The Fourteen Layer Cake […]

  10. 28 Layers of Cake: via the iPhone « Says:

    […] Layers of Cake: via the iPhone By amypaul So…you may remember my first attempt at the 14-layer cake a while back. Things went mostly as planned and there were no major catastrophes. Because she knew […]

Leave a Reply

