I Told You: “It’s Just What I Do”

So…I did some more experimenting with the cake ball recipe yesterday and attempted cake pops. You might remember the Red Velvet Cake Balls that Kasey and I made last week. Well, this is the same recipe from Bakerella, with an added twist. I took pics of the process this time so you could get the idea. And, don’t judge me…mine are NOWHERE as cute as the ones you’ll see on Bakerella’s blog, but they taste amazing.

On this go round, I made two kinds: 1) Christmas Funfetti Cake with Vanilla Icing dipped in Chocolate; 2) Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Frosting dipped in Peanut Butter candy melts.

Here we go…

 

Bake a cake in a 9x13 pan. Cool.

Bake a cake in a 9x13 pan. Cool.

 

Crumble up the cake. If you don't want to use your hands, I found using a slotted spatula works wonders!

Crumble up the cake. If you don't want to use your hands, I found using a slotted spatula works wonders!

In large bowl, combine cake and one can of frosting. (I added the Funfetti sprinkles at this point too.) Mix thoroughly.

In large bowl, combine cake and one can of frosting. (I added the Funfetti sprinkles at this point too.) Mix thoroughly.

 

Roll mixture into balls and chill.

Roll mixture into balls. For cake pops, go to next step. For cake balls, chill now.

Dip the tip of your lollipop stick in a little of the melted candy coating and insert into the cake balls. Then chill.

For cake pops: Dip the tip of your lollipop stick in a little of the melted candy coating and insert into the cake balls. Chill.

 

Dip in candy coating and stick in styrofoam block to dry.

Dip in candy coating and stick in styrofoam block to dry.

 

Christmas Funfetti Cake Balls with Chocolate Coating

Christmas Funfetti Cake Balls with Chocolate Coating

 

Chocolate Cake Pops with Peanut Butter Candy Coating

Chocolate Cake Pops with Peanut Butter Candy Coating

15 Responses to “I Told You: “It’s Just What I Do””

  1. Dad Says:

    and you do it well

  2. Kati Says:

    Mine are starting to look pretty yummy too!

  3. Sami Says:

    I don’t even know what to say about these…I think I got a sugar overload just reading about it….

  4. katie Says:

    OH MY WORD. i’m driving to your house right now. i’ll be there around 2 AM. have a glass of milk ready.

  5. Dawn Voelker Says:

    I just made the red velvet ones…to crumble I throw the cake in cut squares in the kitchen aid with the frosting and let the mixer do the work! Like a charm…also you can freeze the cake ahead a time and them dip, just make sure you bring the balls to room temp. first! How were the pb and choc ones?

  6. masterfamily Says:

    I saw these on Bakerella and some of us girls in the office are making the reindeer ones later this week to give as office gifts! I cannot wait! Yours look incredibly yummy!!

  7. kathleen Says:

    my mouth is watering.

  8. jermandkate Says:

    how many do you get out of a cake?

  9. Cheryl Says:

    Wow, those look really good. Your blog always makes me want to bake, Amy! 🙂

  10. regina latella Says:

    this has been a highly instructional experience!!

  11. Judy Says:

    these look like great fun to make with grandkids…and good to eat. the best of two worlds…cake and candy.

  12. PKU Friendly Cake Balls « Says:

    […] balls (like these) have become a favorite dessert in our family, but until now Paul has not be able to partake due to […]

  13. A New PKU Food Recipe « What a world… Says:

    […] blog to see the details of making PKU-friendly cake balls. (She also has a link on there to regular cake balls if you want to make them for your non-pku friends/family.) Yum! Three different flavors! Possibly […]

  14. The Obligatory New Year’s Post « Says:

    […] I Told You: “It’s Just What I Do” (520 views) […]

  15. Marla Saunders Says:

    Yes, I came here just to LOOK at the cake balls. How sick is that?

Leave a Reply

