It’s Just What I Do

If you know much about me, or have happened upon my Facebook statuses lately, you would know that I’ve been doing a lot of baking. I could use the excuse that it’s Christmas baking, but that’s not really true. It’s just baking to bake. It’s just what I do. A few of you have be intrigued enough with the baking to ask for recipes, so here you go. I feel like my blog is overflowing with recipes these days, so I’m considering starting a separate cooking blog. Any thoughts on that?

Without further ado, below are the recipes for each of the things that I made this past week. I know it seems like a lot in one week, but I told you, I can’t help it. It’s just what I do.

Oh yum.

Oh yum.

Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars
I discovered these wonderful treats on the blog “…and a cookie for dessert”  and oh my. They are great. I would recommend trying them. They are sure to be a crowd pleaser. Also, based on my experience I would suggest storing them in the fridge.

 

 

 

 

 

Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars

3/4 cup butter
1-1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1-1/3 cups all purpose flour
3 tbsp baking cocoa
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional (I omitted)
4 cups miniature marshmallows

Topping:
1-1/3 cup chocolate chips
1 cup peanut butter
3 tbsp butter
2 cups crisp rice cereal

In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until fluffy. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture. Stir in nuts if desired. Spread in a greased 15 x 10 x 1″ or 13 x 9″ pan. Bake at 350F for 25 minutes. Sprinkle marshmallows evenly over cake; return to oven for 2-3 minutes. Using a knife dipped in water, spread the melted marshmallows evenly over cake. Cool. For topping, combine chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter in a small saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until melted and well blended. Remove from heat; stir in cereal. Immediately spread over bars. Chill.

 

Very yummy.

Very yummy.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies
I discovered these several years ago and they have not failed me yet. They are pretty simple to make and even simpler to eat too many of.  If you are a fan of the peanut butter and chocolate combo, you’ll love these. I don’t have a “formal” recipe for these because I’ve been making them so long that I just know how to do it. I’ll do my best to explain it. Let me know if you have questions.

 

 

 

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

1 package peanut butter cookie mix
All the ingredients required on the cookie mix (usually eggs and oil)
Miniature Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Prepare peanut butter cookie mix as normal. Make little quarter sized balls of the dough and place in greased miniature muffin tin. Cook until lightly browned (VERY lightly), based on the cookie mix instructions (I believe it’s normally 350 degrees for about 8-10 minutes). As soon as they come out of the oven, push a peanut butter cup into each cookie. Allow them to cool for a little bit in the tin and then transfer to a wire rack.


Fantastic.

Fantastic.

 

 

Red Velvet Cake Balls

I have been eyeing these on Bakerella.com for quite some time and finally had the time to try them out on Friday. I am sure glad I did. I am looking forward to trying out other cake and icing combos. Keep in mind that while the process for making the cake balls is not difficult, it is quite extensive. But it’s worth it! Try them!

 

 

Red Velvet Cake Balls


1 box red velvet cake mix (cook as directed on box for 13 X 9 cake)
1 can cream cheese frosting (16 oz.)
1 package chocolate bark (regular or white chocolate)
wax paper

  1. After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl.
  2. Mix thoroughly with 1 can cream cheese frosting. (It may be easier to use fingers to mix together, but be warned it will get messy.)
  3. Roll mixture into quarter size balls and lay on cookie sheet. (Should make 45-50.)
  4. Chill for several hours. (You can speed this up by putting in the freezer for 15-30 minutes.)
  5. Melt chocolate in microwave per directions on package.
  6. Roll balls in chocolate and lay on wax paper until firm. (Use a spoon to dip and roll in chocolate and then tap off extra.)

 

Peanut Butter Fudge
This is another recipe from Bakerella.com. I don’t have a picture, but just trust me on this one. It’s good stuff and pretty simple. Try it out for your next party.

3 cups sugar
3/4 cup margarine
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 tsp vanilla
6 oz package semi sweet chocolate pieces
7 oz. jar Marshmallow Creme
1/2 cup peanut butter

  1. Combine 1 1/2 cups sugar, 6 tablespoons margarine and 1/3 cup evaporated milk in a medium pot. 
  2. Bring to full rolling boil, stirring constantly. 
  3. Reduce heat to medium and continue boiling for 4 minutes, stirring constantly to prevent scorching.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate pieces until melted.
  5. Add 1 cup (1/2 jar) marshmallow creme and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until well blended.
  6. Pour into greased 13 X 9 pan.

Repeat with remaining ingredients substituting peanut butter and spread over chocolate.

Then, cool at room temperature and cut into squares.

 

Happy Baking!!

4 Responses to “It’s Just What I Do”

  1. katie Says:

    let me be the first to say (and i am, in fact, the first to comment, haha) that i had the PLEASURE of tasting each one of these delectable treats on Friday night (and Saturday morning for breakfast). Each is superb in it’s own way. My mouth is watering just thinking about those stinkin rice krispie bars.

  2. kathleen Nugent Says:

    I am SOOOO making those cake balls!

  3. I Told You: “It’s Just What I Do” « Says:

    […] experimenting with the cake ball recipe yesterday and attempted cake pops. You might remember the Red Velvet Cake Balls that Kasey and I made last week. Well, this is the same recipe from Bakerella, with an added twist. […]

  4. Laynie Says:

    Hi Amy! I justed wanted to let you know that I hosted a party at my place last night and they were a hit!!! You were right, it was messy – but the taste is SOOOOO worth it!!! I’m not a cook, much less a baker, and this recipe was easy enough for me! Thanks for sharing on your blog!

Leave a Reply

