30 Things That Make Turning 30 Alright

images-1Today’s the day. Thirty years ago my wonderful parents welcomed me into the world. I’ve been blessed far beyond anything I deserve, yet as I say goodbye to my 20s and hello to my 30s, I’m looking for the silver linings. And, here’s what I could come up with, in no particular order…

  1. God is still good. And…still God.
  2. God knew me and loved me long before I ever even thought about turning 30.
  3. I am blessed with a family and friends who love me–even as a 30-year-old.
  4. I get to share my birthday week with two of my best friends–Katie and Shanel.
  5. I am one year closer to senior citizen’s discounts.
  6. I got to answer the question, “Mimi, are you old?” posed by my two-year-old nephew.
  7. The maximum heart rate during exercise is now lower.
  8. I’m closer to my ten year college reunion. Yeah for PBA (I can’t wait!).
  9. I can go to bed before 10:00pm and blame it on being “old.”
  10. I am conquering my fear of trigaphobia (the fear of turning thirty).
  11. I can begin to appreciate the saying, “age ain’t nothing but a number.”
  12. I can still easily pass for a 25-year-old. Right?
  13. I can still surf and skateboard.
  14. I am living in Central Florida again, with/near my family and close to some good friends and mentors.
  15. I am learning to live in the moment and take one day at a time.
  16. I get to play Wii with my parents, sister, brother-in-law and nephew. Are we a cool family or what?
  17. I have ten more years to prepare for 40.
  18. I can stop dreading turning 30. It’s done.
  19. Apparently 50 is the new 30, which makes 30 the new 10. Thanks for pointing that out, Jen!
  20. I can say “I’m 25 with 5 years extra experience” until next year at this time when I’ll change that to say “I’m 25 with 6 years extra experience!”
  21. I have incredible stories and memories from each decade of my life.
  22. I can eat whatever I want for the week (or month…or year…) of my birthday and use the excuse, “I’m 30! I need comfort food!”
  23. I got a birthday week hot stone pedicure at Christine’s with Katie. (Can somebody please convince Christine to open a salon in the greater Orlando area?!)
  24. Birthday dinner = Kobe Japanese Steakhouse where I will take in as much of that terrific white sauce as my body can handle.
  25. I get to spend the birthday weekend at the beach house with my family.
  26. I am the in the young spectrum of the 30s decade. (Sorry, Kasey, but you’re still older!)
  27. I am working with good friends and setting my own work schedule.
  28. I can indulge in retail therapy. (Thanks for the great idea, Dawn!)
  29. I can now justify driving a station wagon–even if it is a tad on the sporty side.
  30. I have five years to plan my presidential campaign for 2016. (Josh, are you in?)
10 Responses to “30 Things That Make Turning 30 Alright”

  1. Gerry Says:

    I’m right there with you on that white sauce from Kobe. I make the guy leave the tub at the table. Happy 30th Amy! Can you believe we’ve known each other for like 13 or something years? Man.

  2. Shanel Says:

    Love it! How funny is it that the 3 of us share a birthday within the same week! Makes life so much better huh?? Happy Birthday AP! Love yoU!

  3. katie Says:

    first of all, i resent the station wagon comment. way too close to a minivan.
    secondly, i heard that the white sauce is great for your skin. you’re supposed to slather it on and then lick it off (or use a piece of chicken to wipe it off).

  4. David Says:

    happy birthday Amy, you’re a blessing and truly blessed too!

  5. Kasey Says:

    First of all, just so I can clear up any confusion from this morning (I know Matt was having a very difficult time understanding…) I am and will always be 4 months and 29 days older or grand total of 151 days older and cooler than you. However, you will probably always be “wiser” than me no matter if I am older or not. Happy Birthday! Hope this is the best year yet!

  6. kathleen Nugent Says:

    Is trigaphobia a real term?? Regardless hope you are having a great 30th bday!

  7. Alex Workman Says:

    President Amy…that does have a nice ring to it.

  8. chad Says:

    you missed one….RAWR

  9. The Obligatory New Year’s Post « Says:

    […] 30 Things That Make Turning 30 Alright (451 views) […]

  10. Noshaba Says:

    Lol yr list was quite amusing to read. I’m turning 29 next week and the fear of 30 hit me on my 27th birthday. One point u could add is the person u’ve become bec of all yr experiences. I was so confused at the onset of my 20’s–college student, still finding my way etc. I can say I’m more at ease w/myself now and that comes w/experience. So happy 30!

Leave a Reply

