Taking in Lake County Culture

Over the last two weekends, I have ventured into the small towns of Lake County to take in a little bit of the area’s unique culture.

First stop: Montverde Day on Saturday, November 1
No offense to the good people of Montverde, but take it from me…this is not something you’ll be needing to experience for yourself. As my sister and I walked up with Paul, I asked her, “Do you think we look as out of place as we feel?” I don’t even know an accurate way to describe what is probably the city’s most exciting event of the year. There were bounce houses, fire trucks, loud country music, looooong lines for food (which makes me believe they were serving something great), and a kajillion “booths” where people could do whatever they want (sell something, showcase their business, or have a yard sale). After a little research, I discovered the fee for a “regular booth” is $10, which would explain the large quantity of booths as well as the varied wares being offered. So, like I said before, with no offense to the good people of Montverde, I don’t think it’s necessary for you to mark your calendar for next year’s big day. Unless of course, you’re looking for a very affordable way to sell your crafts or promote your business. More about Montverde Day…

the horses in the field next to our "parking space"

The Highlight of Montverde Day: the horses in the field next to our "parking space"

Culture stop number two: Lakeridge Winery’s Holiday Open House on Sunday, November 9
This past weekend, I checked out the 18th Annual Holiday Open House at the Lakeridge Winery. I was joined by Kasey, Chad, Cathleen, Kati, Bradley and Paul. What an experience! We checked out the lovely arts and crafts booths and then checked out the wine tastings where we all learned we were “OK” as indicated by the stamps on our hands. The weather was nice and the company was even better so a good time was had by all at the festival. More about the Lakeridge Winery…

Hanging out at the Lakeridge Winery

Hanging out at the Lakeridge Winery

4 Responses to “Taking in Lake County Culture”

  1. katie Says:

    cathleen looks like a giant. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Cat Says:

    re the giant comment; that was my thought EXACTLY when I saw the pics on FB last night!!!! you shorty girls need to wear some heels or something

    Also, I’m sensing some plagarism in your blog my dear Amy…seeing as you are in grad school I would think you would know how to cite your source of entertaining tidbits : )

  3. amypaul Says:

    Darn…I knew I should have run this blog through “Turn It In” before I posted it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You know, Cathleen…you’re ok!

  4. Cat Says:

    Mt Dora next for Lake County culture!

Leave a Reply

