Thankful

Remembering a week’s worth of blessings in my life…I’ll catch up on the rest later…

Monday (9/8/08)-On Sunday night, my friends convinced me to stay in Orlando until Monday morning. Not to mention I got to see Kati and Paul on Sunday night. On Monday, I was thankful that I had a safe trip back to West Palm at 6:00am. It was a nice, quiet drive, and possibly a better option than driving back on a Sunday night. 

Sunday-Looking back at Sunday, I am thankful for new ideas. Some friends and I sat around dreaming up new ideas and opportunities. It is so life-giving to dream and be inspired for something greater. New ideas present new challenges and opportunities. I am thankful for the freedom to sit and dream.

Saturday-On Saturday, I was thankful for God’s faithfulness. I was able to participate in the first Orlando service of The Ascent. I was thankful for God’s provision for Winderemere Community Church and The Oates Family as they embarked on this new journey together. God is good. He keeps His promises. He is always faithful and for that, I am thankful.

Friday-On Friday, I went to Orlando to visit Kasey, Matt and Chad. We had a fun dinner in downtown Orlando, and then I suggested we head to SAK Comedy Club for some good clean fun. We had fun alright. Fun laughing at Matt. On Friday, I was thankful for laughing so hard you cry. Matt started “fake laughing” at the actors at SAK (who WERE NOT funny…at least not to us). His “fake laugh” was so real, but those of us that know him know how very fake it was and that made us laugh at him. I was seriously crying I was laughing so hard. Laughter with friends is good for the soul…I’m convinced. 

Thursday-On Thursday, I was somewhat grateful for the possibility of Hurricane Ike paying South Florida a visit. I know, I know…that’s horrible. I mean, it’s REALLY horrible…I shouldn’t wish that on anyone. But I was being thankful in a selfish way. I was looking for a reason to spend more time in Orlando with my family. Don’t judge me because I love my family. 🙂

Wednesday-I’m not too big into politics, but on Wednesday night, I was thankful for Sarah Palin. She seems to have her act together and makes me hopeful for our country. She makes me ok with the Republican party option. She seemed so “normal” and real. I am thankful that she is willing to take a risk and put herself out there in hopes of bettering our country. [On a sidenote: I want her bangs, and I want her accent…she’s so darn cute!]

Tuesday-What a hectic day! I was thankful for an early-in-the-day reminder from a co-worker of an evening commitment with work and then for the mercy of classmates when I realized I would have to miss an group meeting because of the work commitment. It was such a crazy day, and I was more than overwhelmed. I was annoyed at myself for forgetting about the commitments I’d made. My classmates were very understanding, and my co-worker was more on top of my schedule than I was that day. That’s something to be thankful for!

Monday-On Labor Day, I left the beach house after a wonderful Chanda Weekend and I was thankful for the safety and security of those friendships. Those girls are so wonderful and, even though we gave hugs and went our separate ways, I know that time and distance will not threaten the safety in those friendships. For that, I am thankful.

One Response to “Thankful”

  1. katie Says:

    you’re such a good writer and i think these thankful posts are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

