A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

Who watches Veggie Tales?? During my most recent trip to the beach house, my mom and I rented one of my favorite Veggie Tale videos for my nephew to watch. If you don’t know much about Paulie, the kid loves all things electronic…and that means he’ll do anything with you on the computer, he’ll “talk” on your cell phone to God-only-knows who, he’ll listen to your “myPod”, he’ll vacuum with the electronic broom and he’ll watch hours of Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Veggie Tales. Needless to say, I lost count of how many times we watched the Madame Blueberry Veggie Tales episode after three or four.

The episode talks about being grateful for what we have, rather than trying to acquire more stuff. Madame Blueberry attempts to make herself happy by loading up her house with lots and lots of stuff from the StuffMart (seriously, I couldn’t make this stuff up. You need to watch it if you haven’t seen it.). Two different scenes help kids see the contrast–those who don’t have much, but are still happy. One little girl vegetable sings about how she’s thankful to spend her birthday with her mom and dad, sharing one piece of apple pie. She’s thankful for the birds and for God. Another little boy sings about how he’s thankful for his bouncy ball and the day he could spend with his dad at the mall. Get the idea? Madame Blueberry eventually loses everything when her tree house gets too full and (insert Paulie’s voice here…”uh oh, uh oh…water!”) all her stuff ends up in the lake below. The premise of the little kids’ songs is that “a thankful heart is a happy heart.”

After watching that episode more than I imagined possible in 5 days time, I read a section in a book where the author talked about finding one reason to be thankful each day. Sounds easy enough, right? However, in the past several months, it’s been waaaaay easier for me to talk about everything that’s not happening the way I think it should. Instead of embracing the change, I continue to fight it and continue to look for stability in places I’ll never find it. With that being said, today begins my quest to look back at each day and find something to thank God for. No matter how I’m feeling or what circumstances surround my life or day, I will find one thing. I may or may not post these on my blog, but I must do this within my heart and mind because a “thankful heart is a happy heart.” Thanks Bob, Larry and Madame Blueberry!

Looking back at yesterday, I am so very grateful for my friends. Last night several friends came over for dinner and it was so much fun. We just enjoyed each other’s company, laughed and welcomed Jen to Florida! As I sat surrounded by so many of the people I care about, and who love me way more than I deserve, I found myself already thanking God for the gift of my friends. He has blessed me with friendships that I could have never imagined or orchestrated myself. I know that in life it’s a treasure to have one or two close friends that you can count on for anything, or call anytime. I am blessed beyond measure as I know that I have SEVERAL very close friends who love me and who I care about probably more than they’ll ever understand this side of heaven. So today, even though I’m sad that the circumstance of some of those friendships has (or is) changing, I am thankful for my friends.

2 Responses to “A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart”

  1. Sami Says:

    We need to do that more often…I came home and my heart felt full after being able to spend time in your home. Good perspective in this blog…I need this perspective today…

  2. katie Says:

    i love you, AP!! thanks for the blog…it’s a good challenge for all of us…

Leave a Reply

