Five a Day

So, today I decided a couple of things. If you know me at all, you would know that for as long as I can remember, I have been able to eat whatever I wanted and not worry much about weight, etc. In fact, I didn’t weigh more than 100 pounds until after I went to college. Recently I’ve noticed that my jeans aren’t fitting quite like I would prefer them to. I have decided to blame it on the fact that I am almost 30, and therefore my metabolism is beginning to slow down. Of course, I’m sure it doesn’t help that I haven’t been as active in the last couple of months…and I’ve been doing a lot of weekend baking (probably to compensate for feeling sad about Kasey leaving).

Anyway…all that to say, here’s what I’ve decided:

  1. I will do my best to drink 64 ounces of water per day.
  2. I will do my best to eat 5-7 servings of fruits or vegetables per day.
  3. I will do my best to work in 5 cardio sessions of 30 minutes or more per week.
  4. I will do my best to do 2 days of weights per week.
  5. I will do my best to get more consistent with 1 frivolous snack per day.
I don’t really have any rhyme or reason to my idea. I just kind of made it up and have decided that it will help me feel better about myself. I guess we’ll see how it goes.

Today, I got in 1 banana serving + 2 lima bean servings + 1 carrot serving + 2 potato servings = 6!

And, for the rest of the week, I decided to get a head start and portion out some fruits so that I will hopefully be more likely to get the 5-7 servings in each day. And, I got some juices so that I can get at least 1 serving in that way if I want/need to.

Well…let’s see how it goes. For now, I’m off to bake these cupcakes. Does that count as a frivolous snack?! 🙂

5 Responses to “Five a Day”

  1. kathleen Says:

    Ok I have never baked a dessert with chili powder…interesting!

  2. katie Says:

    um, if you need to unload some of those cupcakes, so as not to have too many frivolities in your house, you know who to call. 🙂 ps: i don’t think a potato is a vegetable…isn’t it a starch (bread)? but still, good job!

  3. amypaul Says:

    Kathleen–me either…I left that ingredient out of the recipe. I just didn’t have the heart to put chili powder in my baking! Come get one to taste test it!

    Katie–I have a cupcake for you! 🙂

  4. emilyjwilson Says:

    can i just say that i was NEVER a sweets person until I moved in with you…and your baking is just so good i cannot resist. 🙂

    how were the cupcakes?

  5. amypaul Says:

    Emily-the cupcakes are good! there are some in the fridge. help yourself.

Leave a Reply

