2008 Book List

I like to keep track of the books I read so that I can look back and see what I’ve read over the year. I will attempt to keep this list up to date and offer quick synopses for each. I’ve got quite a stack to get through right now, but feel free to comment back with other reading suggestions. 🙂

The Starbucks Experience (Joseph Michelli): Quick read and very insightful book on why our favorite coffee destination has experienced the success they have. If you are a leader or interested in successful organizations this book has great practical applications.

Jesus in Blue Jeans (Laurie Beth Jones): Still working on this one. A great book with short devos about how Jesus lived His life that provide thought provoking questions.

Crossing the Unknown Sea: Work as a Pilgrimage of Identity (David Whyte): Required for school. Still working on this one, but I realllllllly like it. Although I’m unsure if the author is a Christian, the tale of his journey through several careers is transparent, genuine and compelling. I like it because it challenges the way I think about work and life. Good stuff.

Ethics, The Heart of Leadership (Joanne Cuilla): Required for school. Still working on this one. Quite frankly I haven’t enjoyed this one. Good if you really like textbooks, need quick leadership related quotes for a paper or enjoy trying to read around a million different footnotes and citations. Otherwise, you could find a more interesting read.

4 Responses to “2008 Book List”

  1. katie Says:

    if you figure out how to put book cover thumbnails in the categories column, can you let me know? i’ve been wanting to do a list like this for a while now, but i want it to be up all the time so i can add to it.

  2. amypaul Says:

    i don’t know if i know what you mean…won’t this blog be up all the time?

  3. Update :: 2008 Book List « life as i know it… Says:

    […] :: 2008 Book List An Update to a Previous Post…I like to keep track of the books I read so that I can look back and see what I’ve read […]

  4. Update :: 2008 Book List « Says:

    […] :: 2008 Book List An Update to a Previous Post…I like to keep track of the books I read so that I can look back and see what I’ve read […]

Leave a Reply

