My First Ruffle Cake

So cute!

I’ve seen ruffle cakes various places around the Internet, so I stuck the idea in the back of my mind as something to try…sometime…sometime when I was feeling really brave.

Well, I was given the opportunity to make a wedding cake for a Wish family coming to the Village next week. I knew it didn’t need to be anything fancy, nothing like what most of us consider a wedding cake. But, when I was first asked, I was very reluctant to take it on because I felt like I didn’t have any cakes that were wedding-cake-worthy. Then, the ruffle cake came creeping to the front of my mind. And, I’d been wanting to find a go-to yellow cake recipe, so I decided to give it a try.

It was surprisingly simple! My first cake wasn’t anywhere near perfect, but I totally understand the piping technique (thanks to this video from My Sweet & Saucy, a blog I’ve been following for a couple years now) and I feel confident that I can make the cake for the little wedding coming up at the Village. Kasey and I decided that the cake would be more spectacular if it were taller. I made two 9-inch rounds for the one in the picture, but I may try to do three layers for the wedding cake. Also, the ruffles are really supposed to continue around the top of the cake, but I ran out of icing. Since this cake was just a tester (and really just for the fun of it), Kasey decided to make a little bunting for it, which we LOVE. It’s so cute! (She also made the chalkboard behind the cake and the cake stand it’s sitting on…so fun!)

Oh, and the cake tasted amazing! I have found a g0-to yellow cake recipe and the vanilla buttercream is one I’ve used a couple of times before. I used my homemade vanilla extract in both and you could really taste it. So good!

So…I’ll be making my second ruffle cake this Saturday. And it’ll make it’s appearance at a wedding on Sunday! Yikes!

Yellow Butter Cake
(from Annie’s Eats)

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups cake flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 3/4 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare two 9-inch round cake pans by spraying with baking spray (includes flour).

In a medium bowl, combine the all-purpose flour, cake flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk together to blend well and set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar. Beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes, scraping down the bowl as needed. Mix in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Blend in the vanilla. With the mixer on low speed, add in the dry ingredients in three additions, alternating with the milk. Beat each addition just until incorporated.

Divide the batter between the prepared baking pans. Bake, rotating the pans halfway through baking, until the cakes are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 30-35 minutes. Transfer the pans to a wire rack and let cool 20 minutes. Run a knife around the edge of the pans to help remove the cakes. Invert the cakes onto the rack. Let the cakes cool completely before frosting. Level the cakes if necessary.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

2 1/2 sticks of butter, room temperature
3 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups confectioners sugar
1/8 tsp salt
2 tbsp heavy cream (or milk)

In a stand mixer with the whisk attachment, beat butter at medium-high speed until smooth. Add salt and some of the confectioners sugar. Beat at medium-low speed until incorporated. Gradually add the rest of the sugar and beat until mixed. Scrape down sides of bowl as necessary. Add vanilla and a few drops of cream, and beat again. Add up to the full 2 Tbsp of cream depending on the consistency you want. (For the ruffle cake, I did 1 Tbsp.) Increase the speed of the mixer to medium-high and beat until light and fluffy, scraping sides of bowl once or twice.

Sharing this recipe at Lady Behind the Curtain’s Cast Party, Something Swanky Sweet Treats Party, Thirty Hand Made Days’ Pity Party and This Chick Cooks. :)

6 Responses to “My First Ruffle Cake”

  1. Kasey Ainsley Says:

    Celebrate….ha ha

  2. sunshinekmp Says:

    Super cool! :) You are on your way to being famous!

  3. Cheryl Says:

    You amaze me with how fearless you are to try new things. I love that about you. I can’t believe this is your first ruffle cake – it looks great! I hope you will take pics of the wedding cake and share them with us (hint, hint). :)

  4. Sheryl Says:

    Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe with us at Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you come back and visit us tomorrow.
    Thanks again.
    I hope to see you there!

  5. viv @ vivre Says:

    Found you via This Chick Cooks blog link party. I have been seeing these gorgeous cakes everywhere! That looks excellent for a first try! Good luck on the wedding cake, I am sure everyone will be amazed if it looks half as good as the one you’ve posted. Loved your blog, and am your newest follower! -Viv

    http://vivrekitchen.blogspot.com

  6. Katie @ This Chick Cooks Says:

    How pretty! I love the look of the ruffle cakes and yours looks wonderful. What an honor to make a wedding cake :) Thanks for sharing your recipe.
    Katie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

