P-Dub’s Sour Cream Enchiladas

A few weeks ago, I saw this recipe on Pioneer Woman’s blog. I knew I wanted to try it. I made a couple of adjustments–used flour tortillas because I had them, omitted the cayenne pepper because I’m not into spicy and made half of the recipe since it was just me eating. I will definitely make this again, but I think I would use the corn tortillas she suggested. I think they would be easier to handle (more substantial).

But these were good! And, just as good leftover for lunch. I think they would be great with some shredded chicken and/or spinach too.

Another winner from P-Dub. :)

Sour Cream Enchiladas
(from Pioneer Woman)

12 whole corn tortillas
Canola oil, for frying
1 can (20 oz) enchilada sauce
2 cups sour cream
3 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated
1 cup sliced/chopped green onions
½ teaspoons ground cumin
¼ teaspoons cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix together sour cream, green onions 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar, cumin, and cayenne pepper.

Heat canola oil in a skillet over medium heat. Heat enchilada sauce in a separate skillet or saucepan.

Using tongs, fry tortillas one at a time, for only about five to ten seconds per side (don’t allow to crisp.) Remove from oil, then dunk tortilla in enchilada sauce. Lay tortilla on a plate, then spoon a good two or three tablespoons of the sour cream mixture in the middle. Roll tortilla, then place face down in a 9 x 13 inch baking pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas and sour cream mixture.

(If there’s any sour cream mixture left over, use it as a dip for tortilla chips!)

Cover the dish with the remaining cheese, then bake for 15 to 20 minutes until bubbly.

Serve immediately. Place a dollop of sour cream on each serving, then sprinkle on sliced green onions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

