Candy Bar Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

Yep...that's a Snickers bar inside that cookie!

When I saw this recipe on Picky Palate, I knew I had to try them. How can you go wrong with a candy bar inside a cookie?! I had some leftover snack size Butterfinger candy bars from another recipe and I also got some Snickers, Kit Kat and Reeses to add to the mix. Rather than buying several bags of snack size candy bars, I just bought the regular size candy bars and cut them to what would be about the snack size version.

The cookie dough is a little bit different than regular chocolate chip cookie dough, but just like she suggests, I would recommend using this recipe. The cookies really did hold their shape while baking and they are VERY good! For step by step photos for making the cookies, check out Picky Palate.

Kati & I taste-tested Reeses Peanut Butter Cup cookie and it was very good. Later, I tried half of a Snickers cookie and a quarter of a Kit Kat cookie. The Snickers was great, but I could pass on the Kit Kat version in the future.

The recipe on Picky Palate’s site says you can get 24 large cookies out of the dough. I somehow managed to only get 12, so I’m not sure if I made them TOO big (is that possible??!?). I don’t think I could have made them much smaller and still covered the candy bars. At any rate, these cookies are great and I would definitely make them again. I think you could experiment with whatever candy bar you have laying around. Maybe a good recipe to hang on to until after Halloween when you’ve got lots of candy in the house. :)

Candy Bar Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla
3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
10 oz bag chocolate chips
Variety of snack size candy bars like Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, Snickers, Butterfinger and Kit Kat

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a stand or electric mixer, cream butter and sugars until well combined. Add eggs and vanilla until well combined.

Place flour, baking soda and salt in large bowl; mix. Slowly add to wet ingredients. Add chocolate chips to combine. Using a cookie scoop take one scoop of cookie dough and place on top of snack size candy bar. Take another scoop of dough and place on bottom of candy bar. Seal edges together by pressing and cupping in hand until candy bar is enclosed with dough. Place onto a parchment or silpat lined baking sheet and bake cookies 9-13 minutes or until cookies are baked to your liking. Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.  Serve with a tall glass of milk, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

