Making Homemade Vanilla Extract

After seeing a post on Joy The Baker with instructions for making homemade vanilla extract, I decided I had to try it. It looked simple enough and I could only imagine I’d be pleased with the results. Now that my second batch of vanilla beans are sitting in the cabinet infusing their flavor into the vodka they’re submersed in, I can assure you I hope to never buy vanilla extract from the store again. This stuff is so good!

So…here’s what you need to.

1. Find yourself some vanilla beans and a Mason jar (or something that seals really well). I did lots of looking for vanilla beans online and there are plenty of options out there. You can also get them at places like Whole Foods, but they’re way more expensive than any online option I found. I got mine from Spider Camp’s Etsy Shop.

 

Too bad this picture isn't scratch and sniff.

2. Using a paring knife or kitchen scissors, cut lengthwise down the center of the beans, leaving about an inch at the top uncut.

3. Add 1/3 cup of alcohol per one vanilla bean. Seal tightly and give it a shake. I used vodka, but you can also use bourbon or rum.

 

Ready to go!

4. Exercise patience. Store the jar in a cool, dark and dry place for two to three months. Give the bottle a shake every week or so. The first time I made vanilla extract, I opened the jar to smell it every couple of weeks. I decided to use it when the vanilla scent was stronger than the vodka scent. My first batch took about three months and I used it for the first time when I was baking for close friends. (That way if it made what I made taste awful we could be honest and throw it out. That didn’t happen though!)

For More Info…Joy The Baker’s Vanilla Extract Post

Other Helpful Posts…

The Spiffy Cookie

Kitchen Project

Tip Nut

One Response to “Making Homemade Vanilla Extract”

  1. Erin Says:

    Thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

