No Sifter? Improvise.

I made a Coconut Cake yesterday and the recipe required sifting flour and powdered sugar. Kasey doesn’t have a sifter, so I decided to improvise. I used a strainer over a bowl and pushed the flour/sugar through the strainer with  a wide spatula. It worked rather well.

If you need to sift something and don’t have a sifter, give something like this a try! :)

Makeshift Sifter

Kati suggested I add this to Works for Me Wednesday. I’ve never done that before, but there’s always a first time for everything, right? :) Check out the Works for Me Wednesday blog for lots of other great ideas!

5 Responses to “No Sifter? Improvise.”

  1. izziedarling Says:

    I do the same thing!

  2. sunshinekmp Says:

    You should post this on Works for Me Wednesday! :)

    http://www.wearethatfamily.com/2010/03/wfmw-making-easter-story-eggs.html

    You’d have to add their link but that’s all.

  3. Jelli Says:

    This is precisely what I use to sift everything…and I bake a lot! Thankfully, mine is a little more comfortable- small, round with a handle.

    • amypaul Says:

      Yes…a smaller one would be nice, but I had to work with what I had. :) Truthfully, I’d prefer a sifter, but the cake must go on. Happy baking!

  4. Cheryl Says:

    GREAT idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

